top of page

Birth Control Pill

To obtain a hormonal contraceptive, our affiliated pharmacists may be able to help. Register online and submit your prescription request on the Medzy platform.

anchorheader

What is the birth control pill?

The birth control pill is a method of contraception to prevent pregnancy. It contains one or two types of hormones: progesterone and estrogen, the hormones responsible for female cycles. The anovulant prevents ovulation and makes the cervical mucus thicker, which makes it more difficult for sperm to penetrate the uterus and thus fertilize an egg.

The birth control pill is one of the most popular and effective forms of contraception.

Types of birth control pills

There are two main families of pills:

  1. Combination" or estrogen-progestin pills: these contain estrogen and progesterone and are the most commonly used type. They have three mechanisms of action: blocking ovulation in the ovaries, modifying the endometrium to make it less welcoming and thickening the secretions to prevent sperm from passing through the cervix.

  2. Microprogestogen pills: contain only a progestin and must be taken continuously. They act on the thickness of the mucus, secretions that prevent or favor the passage of spermatozoa, at the level of the uterine cervix and, sometimes, block ovulation.

Benefits

In addition to the fact that oral contraceptives are 99.7% effective when used properly to prevent pregnancy, taking an anovulant can have several other benefits:

  • Decreased menstrual cramping and bleeding, because there is less menstrual blood when taking the pill 

  • Regularization of the menstrual cycle and better predictability of menstrual weeks

  • Reduces the risk of ovarian and endometrial cancer

  • May reduce acne in some cases

Symptoms

Symptoms related to the birth control pill usually disappear within the first three months. The main ones include:

  • Irregular bleeding (between periods) 

  • Nausea 

  • Headaches 

  • Breast tenderness and swelling 

  • Mood changes 

  • Water retention 

  • Weight gain​

I want a prescription

Our affiliated pharmacists may be able to help. Register online, then request a prescription through the Medzy platform if you are interested in obtaining a birth control pill. One of our affiliate pharmacists will take the time to review your request in a consultation, answer your questions and agree on the best solution for you to ensure your safety and best outcomes.

bottom of page

top of page

Contraception

Vous avez eu une ordonnance prescrite pour cette condition au cours des cinq dernières années ? Nos pharmaciens affiliés pourraient pouvoir vous aider.

anchorheader

Qu'est-ce que la pilule contraceptive?

La pilule contraceptive est un moyen de contraception pour prévenir une grossesse. Elle contient une ou deux types d’hormones : la progestérone et les œstrogènes, hormones responsables des cycles féminins. L’anovulant empêche l'ovulation et rend le mucus cervical plus épais, ce qui rend plus difficile la pénétration des spermatozoïdes dans l'utérus et donc la fécondation d’un ovule.

La pilule contraceptive est l'un des moyens de contraception les plus populaires et les plus efficaces.

Types de pilules

Il y a deux grandes familles de pilules :

  1. Les pilules « combinées » ou œstroprogestatives : elles contiennent l’œstrogène et la progestérone; c’est le type le plus utilisé. Elles possèdent trois mécanismes d’action, soit bloquer l’ovulation dans les ovaires, modifier l’endomètre pour rendre le tout moins accueillant et épaissir les sécrétions pour empêcher les spermatozoïdes de traverser le col de l’utérus. 

  2. Les pilules microprogestatives : elles contiennent seulement un progestatif et doivent être prises en continu. Elles agissent sur l’épaisseur de la glaire, sécrétions qui empêchent ou favorisent le passage des spermatozoïdes, au niveau du col utérin et, parfois, bloquent l’ovulation. 

Avantages

Outre le fait que les contraceptifs oraux soient efficaces à 99,7 % lorsqu'ils sont bien utilisés pour prévenir la grossesse, la prise d’un anovulant peut avoir plusieurs autres avantages :

  • Diminution des crampes et des saignements menstruels, car le sang menstruel est moins important en prenant la pilule 

  • Régularisation du cycle menstruel et permet de mieux prévoir les semaines de règles 

  • Diminution du risque de cancer des ovaires et de l’endomètre 

  • Peut réduire l’acné dans certains cas

Symptômes

Les symptômes liés à la pilule contraceptive disparaissent généralement au cours des trois premiers mois. Les principaux comprennent :

  • Saignements irréguliers (entre les menstruations)

  • Nausées

  • Maux de tête

  • Sensibilité et gonflement des seins

  • Changement de l’humeur 

  • Rétention d’eau 

  • Prise de poids

Je veux une prescription

Nos pharmaciens affiliés pourraient pouvoir vous aider. Inscrivez-vous en ligne, puis faites une demande d’obtention de prescription sur la plateforme Medzy si vous souhaitez obtenir un contraceptif hormonale. Un de nos pharmaciens affiliés prendra le temps d’analyser votre demande en consultation, de répondre à vos questions et conviendra de la meilleure solution pour vous afin d’assurer votre sécurité et l’atteinte des meilleurs résultats. 

bottom of page